Do I need uninsured motorist (UM) protection in Florida?

Florida drivers are required by law to have Property Damage Liability (PD) of at least $10,000 per person / $20,000 per accident as well as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of at least $10,000 per person/ $20,000 per accident.  These minimal coverage requirements are among the lowest of any state and certainly not adequate to protect Florida motorists from injuries and damages sustained in a car accident. 

Florida does not require motorists to carry Bodily Injury Protection (BI) or required to purchase Uninsured Motorist coverage (UM). That is not even the worst part.

According to the 2021 statistics from the Insurance Research Council (IRC), Florida is the sixth worst state for uninsured motorists at 20.4%. That means one in 5 drivers on Florida Highways have NO INSURANCE at all! Usually, drivers that carry no insurance are also more likely not have any other assets from which to collect damages.

Others states percentage of uninsured motorists range from a high of 29.4% in Mississippi to a low of 3.1% in New Jersey.  

According to David Corum, Vice President of the Insurance Research Council (IRC), “Uninsured drivers increase the cost of insurance for those who comply with their states insurance requirements and that is not fair. Keeping auto insurance affordable is more difficult when a significant number of drivers refuse to carry their fair share of all costs.”

If you were in an accident in Florida, uninsured motorist (UM) coverage would cover you for expenses if the other driver did not have any insurance or if your expenses exceeded his coverage limits. If the other driver only held the minimal coverage of $10,000; it might not even be enough to cover your Emergency Room visit! There also might not be enough funds available to get your car repaired even if there were no injuries. 

 Uninsured Motorist protection may cover you in a hit-and-run scenario. According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle (FLHSMV) Crash Dashboard in 2022:

All Crashes: 366,076

Hit-and-Run Crashes: 98,539

Hit-and-Run Fatalities: 241

Hit-and-Run Injuries: 21,358

Nearly one in three accidents in Florida is a hit-and-run (26.9%). 

If I have medical insurance, why would I need UM protection? Your medical costs may only be just a fraction of your expenses after a car accident. Consider other possible expenses such as pain and suffering, long-term care, medical devices such as wheelchair, hospital bed or modifications needed to your home, lost wages and disability, services that you can no longer do yourself such as lawn care, cleaning, bathing and even death.

The single most important step you can take to protect yourself is to add uninsured motorist (UM) coverage to your policy today.   Even better, if your insurance policy has multiple vehicles, make sure you “stack” the coverage to get even more value and protection.   Lipinski Law is always happy to answer any coverage questions you may have, including the benefits of UM coverage.

Continue Reading

Get Lipinski Law on Your Side

Request a Free Consultation

Our consultations are always private and confidential